The idea of exposing news is the main focus in my writing. Throughout my blog posts, I have come to a realization that I enjoy looking at the details or hidden messages of information. This correlates with exposure because I am examining why the purpose of news is being presented in its form, like the intricate pieces to a puzzle. Such as, I like to consider why emotion, references, or themes are placed where they are in stories. Also, there seems to be lots of questions, wonder, and thought involved as well. Since news can be regarded as all of these things, the exposure of it is not so hard to explain. In a sense, it is like I am a newscaster or journalist observing and discussing information. I realized that in order to make sense of news, I must dig deeper and deeper to understand it. Then, I can find its meaning or goal. As said before, exposing news, which can be found in books or people, provides clarity and concern. Also, it brings the idea about how knowledge is perceived and obtained by different information. It is to come in contact with something that brings attention, which is what I primarily focus on. This can also become a paradox because exposure brings both good and bad at the same time. For example, Gulliver’s religious mockery and extermination of race references can be seen as controversial exposure. Or, Cavendish’s critical analysis of the microscope being sketchy surely brings heat to the table. This shows how exposure of news is constantly changing and does not have a certain direction to it. But, to look closely at the matter is beneficial and key to understanding it. Also, uncovering information, whether it is pleasant or not, can be a risky, bold thing to do. Although people seem to expose ideas all the time, such as in conferences, parties, essays, or even gossip amongst friends and family. But, the bold thing about it is that people have different opinions, so these news can be agreeable or disagreeable. As for myself, I have various opinions and knowledge about subjects, therefore, it shapes my writing in these posts. Therefore, the exposure of news is simple to  learn, but tricky to understand because it can be filtered among different subjects. For instance, questions arise like, does it bring unity (reading Gulliver’s Travel in an enlightenment class) or does it bring disaster (Pope publishing his poetry “An Essay on Man” during a science-based era)? This is just one of the ways that exposing news can be a valuable or a harmful choice. To utilize, interpret, and understand news is what I mainly like to discuss and focus on in my blog posts.

 

-Alyssa Jacala